KPK Police Salary Increase 2026: What Has Been Announced

Quick answer: As of 15 October 2026, the KPK police salary increase 2026 is promised but not yet notified. Governor Faisal Karim Kundi has ordered a summary of pay proposals and said police pay will match or exceed other provinces, but no new figures are public. What has figures is a bigger martyrs' package of Rs17 million to Rs35 million by rank.
Key takeaways
Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Governor Faisal Karim Kundi has directed officials to prepare a summary of proposals to raise police salaries, but no salary notification or new pay figures had been released by 15 October 2026.
Compensation for martyred police personnel has been raised, with constables to inspectors now covered at Rs17 million, up from Rs11 million, according to the Governor House statement reported by 24NewsHD.
Families of martyrs will receive cash instead of residential plots, ranging from Rs18 million for constables and head constables to Rs70 million for SSPs and above.
Compensation for permanent disability rose from Rs500,000 to Rs5 million, and for serious injuries from Rs100,000 to Rs1.5 million.
An earlier proposal reported in August 2026 sought a 250 percent rise in basic pay, but it still needs final approval before any notification.
Last updated: 15 October 2026
The KPK police salary increase 2026 has moved from talk to the governor's desk, but serving officers in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) should not expect new pay slips just yet. On 13 October, Governor Faisal Karim Kundi ordered officials to prepare a summary of salary proposals, and on 14 October he told a ceremony in Peshawar that police pay would be raised. What has actually been confirmed so far is a much larger compensation package for martyred and injured personnel. This guide separates what is decided from what is still pending, so constables, their families and police job applicants know where things stand.
Has the KPK police salary increase 2026 been approved?
Not formally. No notification with new pay figures had been published by 15 October 2026; the process is at the summary stage.
According to the Associated Press of Pakistan (APP), the governor chaired a meeting at Governor House on Tuesday, 13 October, where Inspector General of Police (IGP) Zulfiqar Hameed briefed officials on proposals for higher police salaries. The governor then asked for a full summary to be completed and sent up quickly. Chief Secretary Dr Muhammad Fakhr-e-Alam Irfan, Additional Chief Secretary Home Amjad Ali Khan and the governor's Adviser on Home Affairs, Kifayatullah Khan, also attended.
A day later, at a ceremony for the families of police martyrs, the governor spoke more boldly. The Nation reported him saying the package would go beyond expectations and lift police salaries in the province above those in other provinces. 24NewsHD, citing a Governor House statement, reported his remark that pay had been raised to achieve parity with other provinces; it was also stated at the event that KP police pay had trailed other provinces for 13 years. In short, the intention is public, but the amount, the effective date and the grades covered are not stated.
Why is KP police pay being reviewed now?
The KPK police salary increase 2026 review follows a long-running complaint that KP police earn less than their counterparts elsewhere, despite carrying a heavy counter-terrorism load.
Three developments set the scene:
The August 2026 proposal: ProPakistani reported on 29 August 2026 that a 250 percent increase in basic salary had been proposed for KP police officers and personnel, with a notification to follow only if final approval is given.
Hard area allowance: The same report said police officials described recommendations for a hard area allowance for counter-terrorism duty as approved, and that the KP Home Department had sent them to the federal government. All districts except Swabi and the Hazara division were proposed as hard areas.
Governor's rule: 24NewsHD noted that the announcements came in the first week of governor's rule, after emergency and governor's rule were imposed in the province on 11 October.
For context, Aaj News reported that the provincial budget for 2026-27 proposed a seven per cent rise in salaries and pensions, a minimum monthly wage of Rs45,000 and the merger of the 2023 and 2025 ad hoc relief allowances into basic pay.
What is the new KP police martyrs' (shuhada) package?
This is the part that has been announced with figures. Compensation for police personnel martyred in the line of duty has been raised across all ranks, according to the Governor House statement reported by 24NewsHD.
Constables, head constables, ASIs, sub-inspectors and inspectors: Rs17 million (previously Rs11 million)
Deputy superintendents (DSPs) and superintendents (SPs): Rs25 million
SSPs, assistant inspectors general and officers in grades 18 and 19: Rs30 million
Grade 20 and above, including DIGs and the IGP: Rs35 million
Cash in place of residential plots
Families of martyrs were previously offered residential plots. Under the revised arrangement they will receive cash instead:
Constables and head constables: Rs18 million instead of a five-marla plot
ASIs, sub-inspectors and inspectors: Rs25 million instead of a seven-marla plot
DSPs and SPs: Rs35 million instead of a 10-marla plot
SSPs and higher ranks: Rs70 million instead of a one-kanal plot
At the same ceremony, allotment letters for plots were handed to the heirs of 54 police martyrs, from constables up to DSPs, The Nation reported.
How much compensation do injured police personnel get?
Injury payouts have risen sharply. Personnel left with a permanent disability will now be eligible for Rs5 million, up from Rs500,000, while seriously injured personnel will receive Rs1.5 million instead of Rs100,000, according to 24NewsHD.
Other welfare measures announced or ordered include:
A Rs1 million marriage grant for each daughter of a martyred police officer.
Between Rs3 million and Rs5 million when a close relative of a serving officer dies in a terrorist attack, depending on eligibility rules.
Financial help for families of personnel who die from causes other than terrorism or law-and-order duties, as reported by The Nation (amount not stated).
A mechanism for free education for martyrs' children, to be arranged through Zamurd Khan's Sweet Homes and banks' corporate social responsibility programmes.
According to 24NewsHD, the governor added that KP police would get a welfare package modelled on arrangements in Punjab.
Who benefits from the KPK police salary increase 2026, and what happens next?
Serving KP police officers stand to gain if the salary summary is approved (the grades covered have not been stated), while families of martyrs and injured personnel benefit from the compensation changes already announced.
The next step is the summary itself. Once officials submit it, the proposals need final approval, and only then would a formal notification set out the revised pay and the date it applies from. Until a KPK police salary increase 2026 notification appears, figures circulating on social media or in videos should be treated with caution. The 250 percent figure, for example, is a proposal, not an approved rate.
There is also news for job seekers. The Nation reported that the governor directed authorities to speed up recruitment against vacant police posts to ease the manpower shortage. No advertisement had been published by 15 October 2026, so posts, quotas and closing dates are not stated yet.
What this means for you
If you are a serving officer waiting on the KPK police salary increase 2026, keep an eye on official channels, namely KP Police, the Finance Department and Governor House, rather than forwarded messages. If you are planning to apply for KP police jobs, now is a sensible time to prepare documents, since a recruitment drive has been ordered. Genuine police recruitment never requires payment beyond the official test fee, and you should never pay anyone through personal accounts, JazzCash or Easypaisa for a "guaranteed" posting.
To see how other provinces handled this year's pay rise, read our guide Salary Increase 2026-27 Pakistan: Every Province Compared. For grade-wise pay, see BPS 11 Salary in Pakistan 2026: Pay Scale & Allowances, and for private-sector floors, Minimum Wage Pakistan 2026: Province-by-Province Rates.
Frequently asked questions
Has the KPK police salary increase 2026 been notified?
No. As of 15 October 2026, no notification had been issued. Governor Faisal Karim Kundi has directed officials to prepare and submit a summary of salary proposals, which must be approved before new pay figures are notified.
How much will KP police salaries increase?
The amount has not been officially stated. The governor said police pay would be raised to match or exceed other provinces. A separate proposal reported in August 2026 sought a 250 percent rise in basic pay, but it had not received final approval.
What is the new shuhada package for KP police?
Compensation for martyred constables up to inspectors has been raised to Rs17 million from Rs11 million. DSPs and SPs are covered at Rs25 million, SSPs and grade 18-19 officers at Rs30 million, and grade 20 and above at Rs35 million.
Will families of KP police martyrs still get plots?
Under the revised arrangement, families will receive cash instead of plots. This ranges from Rs18 million instead of a five-marla plot for constables and head constables to Rs70 million instead of a one-kanal plot for SSPs and above.
How much compensation do injured KP police personnel get?
Personnel with a permanent disability will receive Rs5 million, up from Rs500,000. Seriously injured personnel will receive Rs1.5 million, up from Rs100,000, according to the Governor House statement.
Is KP police recruitment opening soon?
The governor has directed authorities to speed up recruitment against vacant police posts. However, no advertisement had been published by 15 October 2026, so the number of posts and closing dates are not stated. Apply only through an official advertisement.
Sources
24NewsHD – KP Governor announces hike in police package (14 Oct 2026)
ProPakistani – KP Proposes 250% Increase in Salaries of Police Officers (29 Aug 2026)
Aaj News – KP unveils Rs2.17tr budget with 7% salary, pension hike
This article was compiled by Jobsiz from the sources listed above, with AI-assisted writing and automated fact-checking. Published 15 October 2026. We update stories when new verified information becomes available.
Spotted an error or out-of-date detail? Report a correction — we review every report. See our editorial policy.