Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant Recruitment 2026: 250 Posts

Hiring & Vacancies Oct 3, 2026
Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant Recruitment 2026: 250 Posts

Quick answer: The Supreme Court of India has notified 250 tentative Junior Court Assistant vacancies (Group-B, Level 6, initial basic pay ₹35,400 plus allowances). Graduates aged 18 to 30 as on 1 September 2026 who can type 35 words per minute on a computer can apply online at sci.gov.in from 7 October to 28 October 2026, 11.55 p.m.

Key takeaways

  • The Supreme Court of India's advertisement No. F.6/2026-SC (RC), dated 30 September 2026, invites online applications for 250 tentative Junior Court Assistant vacancies.

  • The post sits in Level 6 of the Pay Matrix with an initial basic pay of ₹35,400 plus allowances, and is classed as Group-B Non-Gazetted.

  • Registration opens on 7 October 2026 and closes on 28 October 2026 at 11.55 p.m.; the fee is ₹1,500 for General/Unreserved candidates and ₹750 for SC, ST, OBC (Non-Creamy Layer), ex-servicemen and physically challenged candidates.

  • Selection has four stages: an objective test tentatively on 20 November 2026, a computer typing test, a descriptive English paper and an interview.

  • Applications are accepted only online through sci.gov.in, and the fee is paid only through the UCO Bank payment gateway linked there.

Last updated: 3 October 2026

The Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant Recruitment 2026 is now officially notified. The Registry of the Supreme Court of India in New Delhi has released advertisement No. F.6/2026-SC (RC), dated 30 September 2026, to build a panel for 250 tentative vacancies of Junior Court Assistant (JCA). It is a central judiciary job open to graduates from any state, and the online window is short: just over three weeks. Below is everything the official advertisement confirms, what it leaves out, and how to plan your application.

What has the Supreme Court announced for 2026?

The Supreme Court of India has invited online applications from Indian citizens for 250 tentative Junior Court Assistant posts, a Group-B Non-Gazetted job in Level 6 of the Pay Matrix. Eligibility is judged as on 1 September 2026.

The advertisement is signed by the Deputy Registrar (Recruitment). It stresses that the vacancy count is tentative: the Registry may change the number of posts for administrative reasons, and it reserves the right to cancel, restrict, enlarge or modify the selection process without separate notice. A category-wise split of the 250 posts is not stated in the advertisement.

Key details at a glance

  • Employer: Supreme Court of India (Registry), New Delhi

  • Post: Junior Court Assistant (Group-B Non-Gazetted)

  • Vacancies: 250 (tentative)

  • Pay: Level 6 of Pay Matrix, initial basic pay ₹35,400 plus allowances

  • Online registration opens: 7 October 2026

  • Last date: 28 October 2026, 11.55 p.m.

  • Objective test (tentative): 20 November 2026

  • Answer key: 22 November 2026; objections 22–23 November 2026 (till 11.55 p.m.)

  • Where to apply: www.sci.gov.in (online only)

Who is eligible for the Supreme Court JCA post?

You need a bachelor's degree from a recognised university in India, working knowledge of computers and a computer typing speed of at least 35 words per minute. You must also be between 18 and 30 years old on 1 September 2026.

The age rules carry several specific provisions, all taken from the advertisement:

  • Reserved categories: the usual age relaxation under Government of India rules is available to SC, ST and OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) candidates, as well as physically challenged candidates and ex-servicemen.

  • Dependents of freedom fighters: up to five extra years above the upper limit of 30.

  • Departmental candidates of the Supreme Court Registry: no upper age limit.

  • Employees of other government departments, PSUs and nationalised banks: no age relaxation. They must produce a No Objection Certificate from their employer at document verification.

Reservation itself follows Rule 4A of the Supreme Court Officers and Servants (Conditions of Service and Conduct) Rules, 1961. The advertisement requires the qualification as on 1 September 2026 and makes no provision for final-year students; check with the Registry if your result is pending.

How much does a Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant earn?

The official advertisement fixes the starting basic pay at ₹35,400 a month in Level 6 of the Pay Matrix, plus allowances. It does not state a gross or in-hand figure.

Several coaching and job portals publish estimated in-hand salaries, but these depend on the dearness allowance rate, the applicable house rent allowance slab and other deductions at the time you join. Treat any single "in-hand" number as an estimate rather than an official figure, and rely on the ₹35,400 basic pay when comparing this post with other Level 6 central government jobs.

What is the SCI JCA 2026 exam pattern?

There are four stages, and each one has its own qualifying mark. The objective test filters the largest number of candidates, so it decides who reaches the typing and descriptive rounds.

  • Objective test (100 MCQs): duration 1 hour 30 minutes; maximum marks 100; qualifying marks 50

  • Typing speed test on computer (English, 35 w.p.m.): duration 10 minutes; maximum marks 50; qualifying marks 25

  • Descriptive written test in English (comprehension, précis, essay): duration 2 hours; maximum marks 100; qualifying marks 50

  • Interview: duration not stated; maximum marks 25; qualifying marks 13

Objective test sections

  • General English (with comprehension): 20 questions

  • General Aptitude: 15 questions

  • General Knowledge: 15 questions

  • Judiciary-related provisions of the Constitution of India: 15 questions

  • Supreme Court Rules, 2013: 10 questions

  • Supreme Court Officers and Servants (Conditions of Service and Conduct) Rules, 1961: 10 questions

  • Computer Knowledge: 15 questions

Every wrong answer in the objective test costs 0.25 marks. In the typing test, up to 3% mistakes of the total words typed are allowed; an error in a word or figure counts as a full mistake, while a capitalisation slip or a missing, extra or substituted punctuation mark counts as half a mistake.

How many candidates move to each stage?

If many candidates clear the objective test, the Registry will shortlist in a ratio of 1:10 against the tentative vacancies for the typing and descriptive stage, and 1:3 for the interview. On the current figure of 250 posts, that works out to roughly 2,500 candidates for stage two and 750 for interviews. Descriptive answer sheets are evaluated only for those who pass the typing test, so typing practice is not optional.

How to apply for Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant Recruitment 2026

Apply only through the link on the Supreme Court of India website, www.sci.gov.in, between 7 October and 28 October 2026 (11.55 p.m.). Postal applications are not accepted.

  1. Open the recruitment section of sci.gov.in once the link goes live on 7 October 2026 and register with an active personal email ID and mobile number; the Registry sends updates by SMS and email.

  2. Fill in your name, parents' names and date of birth exactly as they appear on your Class X certificate. A changed name needs a Gazette notification.

  3. Upload a recent photograph, signature, and Class X, Class XII and graduation certificates, plus a caste/community certificate or disability certificate where applicable.

  4. Choose objective-test cities in order of preference from the list in Annexure-A, which covers 131 cities, including Delhi/NCR, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Chennai, Kolkata, Lucknow, Patna and Srinagar.

  5. Pay the non-refundable fee online through the UCO Bank gateway: ₹1,500 for General/Unreserved candidates, or ₹750 for SC, ST, OBC (Non-Creamy Layer), ex-servicemen and physically challenged candidates, plus bank charges.

  6. Preview, submit and keep a printout and your application number. Do not post the printout to the Registry.

Check every field before you submit: a submitted form cannot be withdrawn or edited, and category changes are not entertained afterwards. If you submit more than one form, only the one with the latest application number will be considered.

Important rules many applicants miss

  • The typing test and descriptive paper will be held in Delhi/NCR only; the interview may be online or in person in Delhi.

  • No travelling or daily allowance is paid for attending any stage.

  • Admit cards are only downloadable from sci.gov.in; none are posted.

  • Persons with disabilities can request a scribe using Annexure-I or Annexure-IA, and compensatory time is allowed as admissible.

  • Answer-key objections cost ₹100 each, refunded if the objection is found valid.

How to stay safe from fake Supreme Court job offers

The only payments in this recruitment are the official application fee (plus bank charges) and the optional ₹100-per-objection answer-key fee, both paid online through the official process. Anyone asking for other money is not acting for the Registry.

  • Genuine recruiters never ask for money for a "confirmed job", "setting" or "joining kit".

  • Government offer letters are never sent from free email addresses such as Gmail or Yahoo.

  • Selection is only through the objective test, typing test, descriptive test and interview described in the advertisement.

  • Apply only on the official website, www.sci.gov.in, and report suspicious calls or messages rather than paying.

What this means for you

If you are a graduate aged 18 to 30 who can type at 35 words per minute, this is a central judiciary job open to graduates from any state, with an initial basic pay of ₹35,400. The objective test is tentatively scheduled about six weeks after registration opens, so the practical plan is: register early in the window, start timed typing practice now, and revise the constitutional provisions on the judiciary along with the two sets of Supreme Court rules, which together account for 35 of the 100 objective questions. Keep checking the recruitment page of sci.gov.in for the dates of later stages, which the Registry says it will notify there.

For wider preparation, see our guides Tell Me About Yourself: 12 Interview Answers (2026) and Why Job Applications Get Rejected (And How to Fix Them) on Jobsiz.

Frequently asked questions

What is the last date for Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant Recruitment 2026?

The last date is 28 October 2026, and the online form must be submitted by 11.55 p.m. Registration opens on 7 October 2026 on www.sci.gov.in.

How many vacancies are there in SCI JCA 2026?

The advertisement lists 250 tentative vacancies of Junior Court Assistant. The Registry says the number may change for administrative reasons, and a category-wise break-up is not stated in the advertisement.

What is the salary of a Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant?

The post is in Level 6 of the Pay Matrix with an initial basic pay of ₹35,400 a month plus allowances. The advertisement does not state a gross or in-hand amount.

What is the age limit for Supreme Court JCA 2026?

Candidates must be at least 18 and not more than 30 years old on 1 September 2026. SC, ST, OBC (Non-Creamy Layer), physically challenged and ex-servicemen candidates get the usual Government of India relaxation, and dependents of freedom fighters get up to five extra years.

Is there negative marking in the Supreme Court JCA exam?

Yes. Each incorrect answer in the objective test carries a penalty of 0.25 marks. The objective test has 100 questions worth 100 marks, and the qualifying mark is 50.

What is the application fee for Supreme Court Junior Court Assistant 2026?

The fee is ₹1,500 for General/Unreserved candidates and ₹750 for SC, ST, OBC (Non-Creamy Layer), ex-servicemen and physically challenged candidates, plus bank charges. It is paid online only, through the UCO Bank gateway, and is non-refundable.

When is the Supreme Court JCA 2026 exam date?

The objective test is tentatively scheduled for 20 November 2026. Dates for the typing test, descriptive test and interview will be announced on www.sci.gov.in.

Sources

This article was compiled by Jobsiz from the sources listed above, with AI-assisted writing and automated fact-checking. Published 3 October 2026. We update stories when new verified information becomes available.

Govt JobsSupreme Court JobsSarkari NaukriIndia JobsRecruitment 2026Careers

More from the blog